Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Punisher Zbrush First project

Metall
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Metall polycounter lvl 5
Hi guys,

I always wanted to work with zbrush, and now is the time.

I want to create the Punisher as drawn by Garth Ennis and Leandro Fernandez.

So I have little experience in zbrush, and it would be great to get some feedback.

I started out creating a basic basemesh and started sculpting in zbrush after that. This is my progress so far. I have put most time in the arms and chest area. The legs are far from the right size and the head is not very good yet either.

Any feedback is welcome.

Thanx

Remco van den Berg
NHTV Game Architecture and Design, Visual Arts student.

Replies

• Metall
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Metall polycounter lvl 5
    This is my reference so far.
  • Der Hollander
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You're moving up in subdivision levels too quickly, which in turn is getting the lumpiness in your sculpt. Keep your model as low a polycount as possible, sculpt on it and tweak the proportions gradually, and you should find you have a lot more control with your tools and the look of the sculpt.

Unfortunately, such is art in the fact that your sculpt won't look like much for about 70% of the total process time. But if you take it in small steps, you'll have a lot stronger foundation upon which to work so when you do get into the fun detailing process it's icing on top of a well-built cake.

Keep working at it, and don't get discouraged.
  • Metall
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Metall polycounter lvl 5
    Yeah it's really tempting to throw it into a high division. Thank you for the tips!
  • battlecow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    battlecow polycounter lvl 12
    It's really horrible, but hey! You have to start somewhere.
    Get some anatomy reference and start over and take your time to get it right.
  • Metall
    Options
    Offline / Send Message