Home General Discussion

Camera thread.

I am told this is the place to get camera advice So I thought I would pick the camera Guru brains here.

This is what I'm looking for,

High-resolution capture, 5k x 5k pixels
1080 P video with the option to 720p
Hi capture rate
I'm not really good with Color related to cameras but I would like it to capture is much color as possible so I assume that's iso?
Remote control
At least an optical zoom over 30 X

I've been looking at the Canon T3I and the Nikon D7000. Both have really good features but I'm undecided.

Recommendations?

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What do you actually want to do with the camera? From your post it doesn't seem like you understand too much about cameras. So lets start with how you intend to use it.

5k pixels is a lot, 5kx5k is about 25 megapixels. Except cameras do not shoot in 1:1 ratios, so you're looking at 6000x4000 which is 24mp and common on some high end DSLR cameras. To need that sort of resolution, you need to have some very specific purpose for it, like making extremely large prints. Most web sized images are less than 1000x*.

1080P is common on most cameras these days, even cell phones, so that isn't an issue.

High capture rate, a lot of recent DSLRs can capture 5+ FPS, some even up to 10+.

"capturing as much color as possible" is a really strange requirement. Cameras with better sensors tend to have better dynamic range(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_range) which basically means it stores more information. If you shoot in raw(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raw_image_format) you will generally be able to recover more information that you would typically store in a JPEG. This is useful if you've over or underexposed your photos, or for more advanced processing.