Home Technical Talk

Drastic difference between high and low meshes

Kyle_butler
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Kyle_butler polycounter lvl 11
Hi, guys!
I've been working in this game character and a texturing issue has come up.
Since I'm not very experienced with this, I decided to ask you: how much detail loss is expected when comparing the high res model to the low res model with maps applied?

High
high_zps1c824fa0.jpg

Low (with SSS fast skin shader)
low_maps_zps43002c71.jpg

Replies

• Kurt Russell Fan Club
    Offline / Send Message
    Kurt Russell Fan Club polycounter lvl 9
    The ears in particular look pretty crunchy.

What's the texture resolution you're baking to? What are the UVs like?

There's no reason you can't have all the visible detail from that highpoly screencap in your lowpoly bake, assuming good UVs and high enough texture res.
  • Kyle_butler
    Offline / Send Message
    Here is the UV. Each map is 2048x2048. Is it high enough?

UV_zpsb2b78333.jpg
  • dii
    What are you rendering in?

I'd suggest you take a look at your baked out maps and see if the textures look like they've lost detail. If your textures are sharp then whatever you are rendering in is washing them out.

It also looks like your screenshot has been enlarged pretty significantly, meaning it could be displaying mip maps.
  • monster
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    It's kind of an unfair comparison. Your high poly shot is 4 times larger than the low poly. The main difference I see is the eyes. They are glowing on the low poly. You may need to put some shadow manually.
  • Kyle_butler
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for your answers. I'm using mental ray's misss_fast_skin. I've suspected about the same thing you dii, about it washing out the details...
    I set up the shadder to look like this tutorial: http://www.davidmoratilla.com/CloseUpPortraits_MakingOf4.html

Any suggestions about set ups would really come in handy.
  • gray