Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Justin DeVore

Justin DeVore
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Justin DeVore polycounter lvl 4
Hi all -

I figured I'd start a sketchbook as my first foray into actually posting some of my art to Polycount. Up until now I've been mostly lurking and occasionally asking questions.

I work as an Environment Artist at Schell Games, in Pittsburgh, and any remaining free time is usually eaten up by my two young kids. I'm hoping the public scrutiny will encourage me to create more art in any remaining hours that don't end up in either of those two destinations.

I'm open to critiques on anything, particularly on going projects. One-off sketches I'm less likely to revisit.

Thanks - I'm excited to actually contribute to the community!

Replies

• Justin DeVore
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok. First post. Actual images!

I've been working on an idea for an environment that I can use to learn UDK. I do a lot of Unity work at Schell Games, so it would be nice to learn some other popular (and more powerful engines). The basic concept is a stretch of highway where alien invaders first happened to land on Earth, but not where they ultimately settled. A number of years have passed since the landing and their landing pods (which destroyed the road and cars) have been abandoned and are starting to be absorbed by nature. Architectural hints of their successful colony can be seen off in the distance.

I'll likely start a proper thread for this once it gets far enough, but for now I'm going to mix progress on it in with other sketches.

These first images are just some sketches where I'm mostly trying to establish the bounds and key points of the level and nail down a language for the alien's technology and architecture.

Some thumbnail ideas:

highwayInvasion_sketches_001.jpg