Home Technical Talk

expression to control an attribute depending on light received?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Yedp polycounter lvl 7
Hello everyone, I'm not good with expressions actually i barely use it in Maya but I was wondering if there is a way to create an expression to control an attribute depending on the light intensity received by an object.
This is more like an experimentation, hopefully you could help me figure this out.
Actually the practical exemple I was thincking of is an eye iris changing automaticly depending on the light received on it, in the scene:

IrisCtrl_test.jpg

So basicly in the exemple I have, there's an attribute named irisCtrl on a curve type of object named C_irisCtrl_1 and that attribute has a driven key controlling the vertex for the iris. The iris is named C_pupil_1 and is currently under a group named C_eye_1.
The tricky part is that I dunno if there's a way to know the overall value of the lights received by an object. Do you think it is possible to find out ?

Replies

• LoTekK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LoTekK polycounter lvl 17
    I'm not sure about getting the amount of light, since that would vary across the entire surface, but you could potentially do something like taking the dot product of the dominant light direction vs the eye's forward vector. This would not take shadows into account, so depending on how accurate you need it, this may not be sufficient.

so broadly:
    iris control value = (saturate(dot(lightVector, eyeForwardVector)) - 0.5) * 2;

This would pretty much translate to fully "closed" when the light is pointed directly at the eye, and fully dilated when the light is anywhere from 90 degrees to behind.
  • Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14
    LotekK's idea is probably your only option, perhaps if you can script a ray trace you can check for shadow occlusion as well.