Home Technical Talk

CGFX alpha masked LitSphere shader

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
choco polycounter lvl 10
Hey there,
I'm currently looking into using litsphere shading as a method for texturing.
The goal here is to use "decals" which has a normal map applied to it with an opacity mask.
Using lit spheres would allow me to reproject the normal map and create unique textures by putting together a bunch of decals in maya.
The output texture would be then extracted through a hardware render from an orthographic camera.

The hardware 2.0 engine in maya allows me to also extra an ambient occlusion map (SSAO technique) in realtime and also transparency with multi-sampling.

I'm currently looking into modifying the shader to add support for alpha based transparency stored either in the color texture or in the normal map (alpha channel).
I would greatly appreciate any pointers regarding the direction I should be taking.

As of now, I'm no tech artist but I'm looking it learning how to author my own cgfx/hlsl shaders which I would gladly share with the community.

The shader I'm currently using is made by Leonardo Covarrubias (blog.leocov.com)

Links to download the shader :
Icreproject (advanced litsphere/reprojection shader) : https://dl.dropbox.com/u/53969153/litsphere/lcReproject.zip

Simple litsphere shader : https://dl.dropbox.com/u/53969153/litsphere/lcLitSphere_1.1.cgfx

Here is an example of usage with a normal map litsphere :

Litsphere used : swizzle +X, +Y, +Z
normal_map_litsphere.png

A few test with some low poly brick stones which has a normal map baked into it :

maya_object_litsphere_nrm.jpg

Shade map (SSAO + simple litsphere) :

maya_object_litsphere_AO.jpg

Failed attempt to use with objects which has transparency (decals method) : AO was turned on to see two planes.

maya_decal_litsphere.jpg

Replies

• Drew++
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Drew++ polycounter lvl 14