Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

sci-fi revolver [WIP]

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
JoshWilkinson polycounter lvl 9
Building a sci-fi revolver from the concept art of Deus Ex: Human Revolution. This is my mesh and wireframe. Final poly count is 4583 tris. Tweaking occlusion and then the texturing fun begins.

e7A3A.png
Bsv7h.png

Replies

• Racer445
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Racer445 polycounter lvl 12
    you may want to consider going back and editing your edge widths on the high poly, when baked down a lot of them are turning to noise.
  • JoshWilkinson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    a4VZi.png

Sorry man, noob here. Are you talking about this artifacting? Because those artifacts are from maya displaying my mesh funky in the perspective window. It happens every time there's a lot of geo in close proximity, maya displays it as though it's overlapping.

If you're referencing something else, I may need more help understanding what you mean.
  • JoshWilkinson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    update: textured the revolver. Looking for crit now!

iOoBD.jpg
  • Notes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Notes polycounter lvl 4
    I would push the spec a bit more to separate the different material types.

This is just a visual thing for me but the T on the revolver I think should be point to the front of the gun and not down. Possibly add a emissive to the T's to make em emit a slight glow to them with what being a sci fi gun and all.
  • Notes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Notes polycounter lvl 4
  • JoshWilkinson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Appreciate the crit, Notes. I adjusted the spec and glass maps a bit to add a little more definition to the brushed aluminum and painted augments, as well as a darker background to help the details pop.

PN9aL.jpg

Here are my flats so you can better critique them
    BtOu5.jpg

and my primary reference was a S&W revolver
    EqDUD.jpg