Home Technical Talk

3DS Max Transfer ALL settings?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
jordan.kocon polycounter lvl 6
Hey all,

I am wondering if there is a magical way that I can copy my setting from max at work, and bring them home so that my max at home will then have all the same scripts/plug-ins/hot keys. I am new to max, so I am a little confused by all the .mzp, .mcp, etc. files, and have a bunch of stuff installed at work and would really like a quick solution to copy all that to my home computer, without having to manually re-install everything.

Thanks in advance :)

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    Hey all,

I am wondering if there is a magical way that I can copy my setting from max at work, and bring them home so that my max at home will then have all the same scripts/plug-ins/hot keys. I am new to max, so I am a little confused by all the .mzp, .mcp, etc. files, and have a bunch of stuff installed at work and would really like a quick solution to copy all that to my home computer, without having to manually re-install everything.

Thanks in advance :)

copy the contents of the UI folder:
    C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2010\ui

I think you only really need the default.ui and the *.kbd file. But the whole folder is probably the safer option.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It's a bit of a pain, but you need to do two things, save/load the settings and copy some files. First copy the files...

Personal files can be found in 2 places you need to trasfer the Scripts, UI, Plug-Ins and Scenes folders from each spot to the same places on the other machine:
    3dsmax Root Dir: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2012
    And in User Files: C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Autodesk\3dsMax\2012 - 64bit\enu
    This should copy over any custom icons and scripts that you have.

Next you need to save out the UI settings (keybinds, toolbar button positions, quad menus)