Home General Discussion

How fast should I be making models?

kuujo
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
kuujo polycounter lvl 6
Hello,

I have a question that is very important to me. I worked as a trainee programmer for a small game company. I thought I was good at it, but it turned out, that it doesn't really matter what I can do, but how fast I can do it. And I was really slow, way to slow. In the end I had unfinished daily tasks even from two weeks before and didn't get the job.

My question is, what is the speed for a starting 3D artist that gets the job? I mean for example, how long should it take to make a 15k poly character, or a 8k weapon model.

I would be really happy if someone posted at least one example of what they were making for their company and how much time it took them to finish. And I mean people with small experience, not veterans.

Do companies often split the work, so one graphic does models, other textures them etc. or one guy does a model from start to finish?

Sorry if it was answered here before.

Replies

• passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    your just starting, out, work on quality first. Speed and efficiency, will come with repetition and experience.
  • JR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JR polycounter lvl 15
    ^ This. Take your time to make the best work possible. I think studios hire artists, not racers :)
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I agree with passerby 100%.
    No one hires someone to produce crap really really quickly.

If you've managed to hit industry level quality then here are some things you might want to do to speed up.
    • Record yourself
      • It works in sports and it works in production.
      • This helps you to find those time wasting activities like traveling the distance of the screen several times every min to click a button. Is there a faster way to handle that action, a key bind, a right click menu, a script?