Home Unreal Engine

UDK- additive vertex colour blends

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
nathdevlin polycounter lvl 12
Hi all,

This may have been asked before but I'm not finding the solution for my problem anywhere so far. I'm fairly new to UDK and working my way through a few projects.

I have a shader setup that uses the R, G, B vertex colours to paint the following details over the base diffuse:

R- Rust
G- Scratches
B- Discolouration

All three work fine independently. My problem is getting multiple vertex colour assignments working together for example painting yellow and resulting in rust + scratches but I get just scratches.

UDK seems to not like adding vertex colours. I've tried using 'ADD' nodes etc. to try and sort it but it does not just add the vertex colours it also adds the diffuse maps.

I'm sure the solution will be simple or it's a fact UDK does not allow this. Hope someone can offer some assistance.

Thanks

Replies

• passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    have to layer things, you got your 1 blend, that feeds into a lerp for the 3rd blend
  • nathdevlin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Heh passerby, If you mean running the Lerp through other Lerps as layering then this I have done. I've tried many combinations but always end up with the same problems. I'll keep working on it :)
  • passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    ya get what you mean, since 1 blend is always in the front of the chain and overrides anything else.

try playing with the "IF" node, there might be some possibilities there, i just don't know how.
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    Mind posting a SS of the Network of the shader and what you're trying to do?