Home Adobe Substance

Problem baking normal map with hard edges

Hello,

I'm a beginner, and I have made a wheel in blender, that I would like now to texture in substance painter.
This is my low poly, it is about 5k tris. 

The back of the wheel in wireframe

The bottom, where I  placed my seams for the cylinder like shapes

The front, every hard edge (marked sharp) is also a seam.

Everything is turned smooth, with Auto-Smooth activated, and a weighted normal with keep sharp edge has being applied.

For the High poly, it is the same mesh, with only quads, supporting loops on the hard edges and a subdivision surface modifier (set on 2 subdivisions and Catmull Mark).

The unwrap look like this, it is far from being perfect, but it should work, I think.

In substance painter, I'm baking a 2k textures, And I get this

The problem being on the crevasses of the wheel, where I get strange result.

I get all these weird reflections on the hard edges. 
It can be seen from far enough for me to think there is a problem , although it might be just me.

I did triangulate both of my meshes before exporting. I've tried reducing the front and back max distance in baking options of SP, it gets a bit better, but still there, visible. Likewise, I have put antialiasing on 8x8, and even put the texture in 4k for testing, and it always appears enough to annoy me.
I've also tried not using seams and hard edges, but just split hard edges manually, and I get the same result.

My though were that the rays coming from the faces facing each other in the crevasses was intersecting the other face across the crevasse, as they are pretty close, but this should be fixed with reducing the max front and back distance, and it is not working.

So, is it me trying to get a perfect result where it is not needed, or is there a mistake in the way I make things work?

Replies

• gnoop
    Online / Send Message
    gnoop polycounter