Should i bother with drawing? How to people make art like this?

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Optimus polycounter lvl 2
i have been a 3D artist for about 9 months now, but i can barely draw a stickman without messing it up. i have seen lots of amazing 2D artwork, and i wanna try my hand at 2D after seeing it. but i can't draw for the life of me. should i bother trying it? i am very interested in 2D, but i lack the skill to draw.

I want an explanation. in photoshop, do people hand draw everything to get amazing artwork like this:

this artwork was made entirely in photoshop. how? did the person who made this hand draw it? is their a way to go around drawing and use some other feature instead?

Replies

• JordanN
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    It's totatlly feasible to draw that by hand. 

Several breakdowns of 2D art exist online. Google them and the process is usually similar (rough sketch > line art > cleanup > base colors > lighting > texturing > post process/composition).

The skill comes in the actual patience and attention to detail to produce art that is very functional and without flaw.
  • Optimus
    Offline / Send Message
    yeah, but is it possible for me to draw 2D when i can't even draw a stickman?
  • JordanN
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    Optimus said:
    Well there's a saying called "don't put the cart before the horse".

Art has never been biological. Only those who never practice or refuse to make an effort say when something is impossible. Which sounds harsh but imagine if the entire art world was like that.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi insane polycounter