Home Technical Talk

Very specific question on UV mapping a zipper

polygon
I've started to UV map my 1st character (self taught) and this character has a zipper on the jacket, which I modeled in ZBrush using one of the available brushes. This zipper as you may know already, has actual topology, it isn't a dynamesh.

Should I bring this topology to a UV program (Maya in my case) or should I project it from the high-poly on the texture when baking? Which would be your workflow for in this case?

This zipper has around 37k tris in the low-poly, so I believe it's a bit overkill to have that modeled in, maybe I'm wrong, maybe in the next gen we are going to have that level of detail, and it's mainly the reason why I'm asking :#

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• musashidan
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    You can model a low poly representation of it that captures the silhouette and bake. You'll be surprised at the detail a normal map can capture with clever use of low poly topology being projected to.
  • JustAfterDark
    @musashidan I could simplify the mesh on the zipper to reduce the poly count at least by half yeah, simply by removing all the faces that aren't going to be seen. I still have quite a lot to understand about the whole UV mapping process.

Let's asume my poly budget is high, like next gen high. I don't know what numbers are those going to be, for a main character in a triple A game, but let's say we are aiming for that. I think Nathan Drake was like 180k tris? And that's a current gen character. In my case, without hair, I have around 119k.