Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Panzerkampfwagen VI AUSF B Tiger II (Königstiger)

Project I started some time ago and worked on every once in a while. It is not perfect and there might be a few disproportions here and there given the nature of the typical blueprints you find online. Few of the parts I had to improvise, for the top view I used reference pictures of a toy model.

I'm still learning, but I started 3d modelling around 2004. It's safe to say that I didn't put that much time into it over the years.

Here are some pictures of my workflow and some simple clayrenders.

imageimageimage

Replies

• CybranM
    Offline / Send Message
    CybranM greentooth
    Looking solid! It'd be great if you could post some higher res images of the tracks and roadwheels.

It would be a bit easier to give feedback if you posted some of the references you were using. Some areas like this cluster on the engine deck doesnt quite look like what I can find online. I'm guessing the reference youre using is one of the later production units with the cover-plate (blue), so if you want to be accurate you'd want to add the mesh covers over the air intakes.
    You seem to be missing one of the two carburetor intake covers on the central engine bay hatch.

There seems to be some loose subD corners (blue) and you're missing the cutout for the drivers periscope mirror (red), same with the radio operators periscope (that I forgot to mark).
    The model is also missing two air intakes ahead of the fan units on the engine deck. You should probably sharpen the corners of the engine bay central hatch as well, its looking very rounded compared to the real thing.

Are you planning on adding the towcables, tracks and other equipment on the sides?

Just some things I noticed, the model is good over all and I hope this didn't come off as negative. I just want to help you make this model the best it can be! :smiley:
  • megaerathia