Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Coffee Shop - Finished

DanikaPuzdrowski
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
DanikaPuzdrowski polycounter lvl 2
Hi all, 

I'm fairly new to 3D modelling and want to make a good portfolio piece.
Everything is still very much WIP so don't hold back on the critique - I could use some help! 

Will keep posting updates, thanks 

Replies

• rexo12
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rexo12 interpolator
    it looks solid, my main concern is that the colours are very flat. I can see it's still early work, but there's not much variation in colours, roughness, or even material, which leads to a rather dull looking image. Do you have any references for the mood and tone that you're going for? 
  • Nattyoop92
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nattyoop92 node
    Hey Danika,

Are you looking at using physical based rendering? If you look at wooden tables at coffee shops in real life, they tend to be more reflective, they are varnished surfaces so have a gloss to them, whereas floors if they are wooden are usually less shiny. Something like this:

If you were to adjust these values and bring them closer to real life, I think really quickly you could add some variety to the scene. Again, as you say its very early WIP, but the colour temperature is all the same, maybe if you added a bluer light on the edge of the scene, like daylight spilling in, that colour variation across the whole piece would also break up a lot of those caramel browns you have going on.

It's a great start though and from what I can see from the WIPs the modelling looks good, keep it up! :)
  • DanikaPuzdrowski
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you both for the comments - texturing is one of my weaknesses so I wanted to use this as an opportunity to improve my skills, so thanks a lot for the critique, i'll continue to work on it :)