Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Finished] Emily

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Lythrae triangle
Hi everyone! ♥

I'm new to polycount, I want to improve my art in general. I feel like posting it here and getting feedback would be a great start.
I feel a bit scared of showing my work as it's nowhere near as amazing as all of the other posts, but I guess everyone starts somewhere! 

This is one of the two characters that I'm working on for my final major project at university. The character is an average girl in her 20s.
I started the model using primitives and dynamesh. I am still very lost finding a style for the character. I want it to be stylised, something like Overwatch or League characters, specially the ones in the K/DA video

Replies

• Lythrae
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lythrae triangle
    Progress:
    Added Toes
    Made some changes, specially to the face and refined it more

• brettd
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    brettd triangle
    Hi Lythrae

I'm also new to polycount, but I hope I might be able to be of some help :)
    The character looks like a solid start. I'm not sure what you're using for reference, but have you checked out the polycount wiki? They have some resources for anatomy, topology, etc.
    For your character in particular you might find this anatomy reference useful, and if you've not already looked at it, the article about K/DA animation (with concept art) might help with getting the style you want.
    For your actual model the main thing I notice is the legs being a bit off proportion. I'd make the thighs larger, and reduce the gap between them (particularly where they meet at the pelvis the gap is too wide). Across your model the form is generally quite soft and smooth. Having more clear landmarks might help to get the overall proportions and anatomy all correct, and also for pushing the shapes closer to a stylised look.