Normal Baking Troubles (Blender) - Any Good Resources for Baking?

So I began working on this project. However, I began to try baking normal maps, I had some trouble. I thought that maybe needed some practice first since I'm still new to the CG field. I created a challenge where I would UV unwrap and bake normal to objects, starting with a cube.
However, this would be harder than I thought. I was able to bake this... (This image is compressed and has a lower resolution. Was originally 4k.)
Looks like a traditional normal map, but the problem with this normal map is that it would make the faces of the cube go inwards and looks inaccurate to the high poly model.

I have no idea how to fix this. I kept looking online for resources but they we're no help towards my solution. Can anybody help me with this and can anybody leave resources on normal map baking? Thanks.

More Details:

Replies

• Animas
    Offline / Send Message
    Animas triangle
    I'm pretty sure there I've seen the exact same problem somewhere here already (thou I'm sure there are more than one of these threads in the long run).
    The general answer last time was, add more support geometry or use a different shape for test, if I remember correctly.
  • Prime8
    Offline / Send Message
    Prime8 polycounter lvl 4
    Look at your material node setup, you probably need to switch the color space of the normal map to non-color data.
  • gnoop
    Offline / Send Message
    gnoop polycounter lvl 8
    it never going to be perfect on such objects.    Blender or whenever.  You have two possible solutions:
    1.make hard edges/split vertex normals/smooth  groups  on low poly cube and split Uv edges/ shells accordingly. 
    2. make small bevels on low poly   with edge vertex normals rotated to be perpendicular to cube sides

There is no much of a difference for a game engine if your model have split hard edges or beveled ones since with split edges the engine would calculate  vertexes two times anyway