What is a polycount and what number of them is appropriate for a game

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Optimus triangle
Hi, I've recently started using ZBrush, and I've heard the word "polycount" thrown around a lot (no pun intended) but what is it? is it the number of vertices on your model? take this for example:

I've done some retopologizing on this guy, and i took him down from 188,000 vertices to 5,349 vertices . So would you say "this guy has 5,349 polycounts"?

thanks in advance, i am a complete noob at this, just need some opinions.

Replies

• Polynurb
    Offline / Send Message
    Polynurb polycounter lvl 9
    You're close. The poly count is the amount of "polygons" used to create a 3d mesh. A polygon is made up of vertices. Reducing vertex count is one way of also reducing the polygon count. You will also hear some modelers refer to triangle count. It's the amount of triangles used to create a 3d mesh. Game engines tend to use meshes as triangles so I personally prefer to always keep an eye on the triangle count. You can view this in 3ds Max by adjusting the "Statistics" in the viewport settings. Try to keep your triangle and/or poly counts down as low as you can get them whilst maintaining the same silhouette. Just keep optimizing until you notice you are ruining the overall shape and then stop.

As an example with your little guy up there. You can remove a bunch of those edgeloops running around him without impacting the way his form looks. That means those edgeloops are unneeded and can be removed. When you remove the edgeloops you will be reducing the overall poly count as well.