Home General Discussion

Why do we do it?

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Polyjunky greentooth
If I didn't tell you what I did for a living, I told you I worked long hours, unpaid overtime, sometimes have to work weekends without pay during busy periods. If I told you all this and then said, I could be made redundant at anytime, maybe because of the studio shutting down or say a credit crunch. You'd say: " What a crap job"!! but if I don't tell you what I have to do, but tell you what I do, I'm a games artist...you'd be like: " that's so cool"!

So why do we do it if this is our lot?

Replies

• Wells
    Offline / Send Message
    Wells polycounter lvl 18
    I'm not treated badly. I love my job.
  • Polyjunky
    Offline / Send Message
    Polyjunky greentooth
    Try working in the UK :)
  • thomasp
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    who's getting treated badly again?
  • notman
    Offline / Send Message
    notman polycounter lvl 18
    Try being an engineer... you work the long and unpaid overtime (including weekends), but when you tell people what you do, you don't get the 'cool' factor :P It's part of working a salary based job... get use to it ;)
  • Mark Dygert
    I do it for:
    • The pay and bonuses, they want people to stick around.
    • A well run company, I know all of the higher ups and they are NOT empty headed hack asses out for a quick buck.
    • We're our own publisher, no toxic relationship, our profits drive future game development.
    • Creative freedom. We're given well thought out designs, but we're left an amazing amount of creative freedom to build on them.
    • Regular build reviews & scrums are done and everyone is open to critique and flexible to changes.
    • The flexible work hours. Very nice coming in early (or vice versa), dodging traffic and getting a bunch of stuff done before anyone shows up to pester me.
    • Great benefits.
    • Low crunch periods.
    • Access to the gym downstairs.