Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modularity

Hey everyone! Im currently attending the Art Institute of California-OC. This is my first post here. I've been working on this piece for a class. This is my first attempt using modularity. This is still a work in progress. I also includeda render of the props I put in this scene. All feedback is welcome.

FULL_RENDER.jpg

5_Props_2.jpg

Replies

• Tumerboy
    Offline / Send Message
    Tumerboy polycounter lvl 16
    Good start dude!

A couple things stand out at me.
    Lighting is very basic, and doesn't sell the scene very well. I say this first, as the next couple could probably be helped tremendously by simply updating the lighting.

It's very monotone. Everything feels like it's the same color/tone. While there are points of interest, they tend to get lost in the sea of grey/brown.

It doesn't feel big. It feels very much like a miniature scale model of a real place. Impressive, but I'm guessing that's not what you're going for. Things that would help sell the scale, include lighting, life (plants, people, etc.) and pretty much anything that is recognizable as a standard size.

I'd say the props, out of context, look good, but the scene as a whole needs a shot in the arm.

Keep it up, good stuff.
  • JasonLavoie
    Offline / Send Message
    JasonLavoie polycounter lvl 18
    Vega this is looking solid buddy.

Can you post your modular pieces when you have a chance, I'm interested in seeing how you used them.

Texturing is nice and clean as well, keep up the great work :)
  • Kawe
    Offline / Send Message
    Kawe polycounter lvl 8
    The modeling and texturing looks pretty nice. I have a question though. Why is it only the pillar that is broken? I'd expect a lot of other things to break before the pillar would.
  • J_Vega
    I still need to make other things broken. Thanks again for commenting and giving feedback.
  • J_Vega