Home Career & Education

Structure for learning anatomy

Vulpes_Vulpes
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Vulpes_Vulpes polycounter lvl 3
Hi all.

I'm a student learning Game Art at the moment (primarily environment art with some vfx). Before starting the course I started teaching myself Zbrush and was very interested in creating characters, but never got further than a couple of shoddy head sculpts, and was then constantly told not to waste my time learning to create characters as I'm unlikely to find work, when I could be practicing my environment art.

Against my tutors wishes I've, decided to again start practicing in my down time, and know that I need to have a really good understanding of both figure and face anatomy.
Does anyone have any advice for a good way to get started on the right track? Should I only be drawing to begin with? Are there well known daily exercises I could be doing to improve?
Free resources are a bonus but I'd be willing to pay for tutorials that are comprehensive enough for a novice.

(Background info:
I know Zbrush and it's interface relatively well
I understand the fundamentals behind game art; texturing, high-to-low baking, topology etc..
I'm awful at drawing.

Thanks!

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Study figure drawing. 

Take evening figure drawing classes.

Book wise, I'd go find a copy of Figure Drawing for All It's Worth by Andrew Loomis.
  • Varoun
    Offline / Send Message
    Varoun node
    Hey there. You might find some good advice in the thread that I made asking more or less the same topic. I'm definitely not an expert on the subject, but as for daily exercises... maybe try drawing and/or sculpting individual parts of the body each day or even each week. Say hands one day/week, a male or female torso on another. Really focus on getting those right, their proportions and details. Then you can bring the individual pieces together.