Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

I cannot draw but I can 3D model, how can I succeed in becoming a good 3D sci-fi designer?

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
BlackNiboWOlf polycounter lvl 2
This is a question I have been battling for five years. even though i am not yet as good as I want to be in both 2D and 3D art especially 2D art. I am still able to progress adecuately. In this tutorial I will like you to go through this amazing adventure as how I found a way of using my crappy 2D sketch along side my 3D modeling process for a project. In this project we are going to be making a Sci-fi cyberpunk teen room. I will be sharing screenshots from start to finish (obviously right?)

Replies

• BlackNiboWOlf
    Offline / Send Message
    The tools/resources I will be using for this tutorial are:
    A drawing book and pencil
    Blender
    Quixel suite
    Photoshop
    Unreal engine 4
    lets get started
  • BlackNiboWOlf
    Offline / Send Message
    like in real life before we do anything we need a plan. same goes for 3D modeling. One thing I believe is, if you have a good image reference you have a 30 % chance of getting your vision into CG reality. from the image above I gathered some images that will help me in laying out my design or concept for my project. The idea is not to carbon copy but to give you an idea of what you are looking for.
  • LuminousXy
    This is really interesting because this is something I'm struggling with right now too. I am learning to be a 3D modeler but don't have the drawing skills to properly plan my ideas. You mentioned a tutorial in your original post and it seems like you were planning on making it a text tutorial using this forum? Do you plan on finishing it by any chance?
    I would love to hear about your process and if you had any tips on how to improve :)
  • BlackNiboWOlf
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes I am I had a hard time uploading images because they are crucial to this tutorial but I will start.