Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

environment artist portfolio critique

spenser.p
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
spenser.p polycounter lvl 8
Hey I am an aspiring environment artist looking to take the next step and land a job in the industry but i know i need to get some tough love before i try to apply to a job so ill take whatever advice i can get . just check the link and tell me what you think things to cut, rework, add or burn but thanks for your time and i hope you have a good day
https://www.artstation.com/spenserp

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    My honest opinion is that when I look at your portfolio, it really becomes a tough sell not based on your modeling (which I think you're no doubt capable of), but the theme. 

Someone looks at that but what mainstream artstyle is it suppose to follow? Look at the big games or movies and and notice they all subscribe to a distinct style. Whether photorealistic, or cartoony, or hand painted. Right now, your work feels somewhere in the middle. While not bad on its own, competing against other AAA artists who specifically made their portfolio to look exactly like Overwatch, or Uncharted or Pixar might earn them the extra spotlight in an Art Director's eyes whereas your art might be seen as "the other" and gets moved to the back or completely forgotten.

Another critique is that you have a lot of pieces that are just matte objects/untextured. Generally, you don't want this as this shows incompleteness. Texturing an entire environment can be tough, but it's better to have 2 or 3 fully rendered scenes, than to fill your portfolio with 6 grey scenes. You want your portfolio to demonstrate versatility, that you're not just a one trick pony for modeling.

And going back to the texturing, your Swamp House scene lacks presentation. Even for a night time scene, it is very flat looking. Where's the moon or other light sources to best describe the setting?