Home Career & Education

Seek Professional Opinion for Environment Artist Career Decision

Replies

• JordanN
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    Schools are happy to take money from you, but they don't guarantee they'll get all students a job. 

Those examples you posted is proof of that. Students can submit anything during class and a teacher has no choice but to pass it along. In reality, those renders are very far away from getting noticed by a professional studio.

And while the instructor's background is important that they have actual employment experience, don't be fooled that it means the experience will rub off on your child. You have to go above and beyond what the school teaches or what grades your assignments are worth, to actually get inside the industry.

That's a lesson I'm still paying for after I graduated school. Art jobs are not like other jobs where having a diploma or bachelors means you're hired.

If you want a job at Call of Duty or Divinity, your son must find actual employees of said games and match their work. For example,

Environment Artists:
    https://www.artstation.com/nickcomeau
    https://www.artstation.com/timmyen

Anything less and that's $20,000 burned away.
  • CrackRockSteady
    Yeah if that is what the instructor's portfolio looks like I would count that as a big red flag
  • JeremyJDickes
    JordanN said:
    Schools are happy to take money from you, but they don't guarantee they'll get all students a job. 

Those examples you posted is proof of that. Students can submit anything during class and a teacher has no choice but to pass it along. In reality, those renders are very far away from getting noticed by a professional studio.