Home Technical Talk

Retopology Question (Please and Thanks!)

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
kmyung polycounter lvl 6
Hello there, 

I am new to the 3d game world as I've been doing concept art for years now, and was wondering if anyone could help me out!
What would be the best approach to re-topologizing this model? I'm a bit unsure to how far the normal maps can follow extrusions so I was wondering if I should treat these as basic shapes (like treating the bell as a cylinder) or should I follow the form of the extrusions as best I can?
Also one more question- I've been told to avoid tris except that they don't matter in areas that won't deform? Is this true and can I use tris or should I stick to quads for everything.

Thank you very much!!! 
Hope to be part of a new 3D community :)

Replies

• Zablorg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zablorg polycounter lvl 6
    I believe normal map details are best suited for features that you would pretty much miss if you looked at them parallel to the surface they're inscribed in. Things that don't protrude much, or to put another way, don't notably affect the silhouette of the object. Because, once baked into a normal map, they won't impact the silhouette.

With that in mind, I think the features you've already retopologized over, the features you've highlighted in red and blue, and the features I've highlighted in green, could probably be baked into the normal map:

There are some other misc scratches I've missed that can also be in the normal map, too.

As for triangles, you're correct that they're more a concern for things that move. They can often also result in poles/stars that can result in some strange shading, particularly on curved surfaces. I wouldn't be afraid to try them out and see how it goes.
  • kmyung
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kmyung polycounter lvl 6
    Thank you very much Zablorg! I will try it out as a simple re-topo then and see how it bakes.