Home Career & Education

Studio Tours and how to go about it.

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
BrianShray polycounter lvl 4
Hi, 

I will be visiting the US in about a months time from now.
Im curious to know. Are studio tours a thing ? 
I know places like Blizzard offer em and I've tried my luck and signed up for it.
But do other studios have such things or do you have to know someone on the inside to bring you around. 

Its my first time in the US and ill be in SF for week and then followed by LA for over a week.
I'd love to be able to visit some studios, if possible, for the experience as well as to meet people.
If anyone has some insight on this I'd super appreciate it ! 

Thanks !

Replies

• slosh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slosh hero character
    I think most studios will not have this sort of thing unless you know someone.  Blizzard and maybe RIOT might have it but I doubt most other studios will.  You could always try to reach out to the HR or recruiting dept to ask but if they don't have an organized tour, you're probably not going to be able to see the studio.  If you know people on social media that might work at those companies, you could try contacting them but if you don't know them well, it's always a bit awkward.  It wouldn't be surprising if they weren't comfortable with it.
  • JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    IMO, unless you're going to a really big studio, you're not missing much.

I went on 3 tours before. 2 were apart of a school trip, 1 for an actual job interview. It was just being lead around a big room full of computers sitting on desks and seeing one tiny office where the art director lived. On top of that, they take security VERY seriously. Plenty of restricted areas with self locking doors. So if you're not following someone who has a key, you're going to have some explaining to do if you go somewhere you're not suppose to be!
  • radiancef0rge
  • sacboi
    Options