Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Street Corner Environment

shaya
null
Offline / Send Message
shaya null
Happy New Year! This is an environment that I have been working on for the past two months. Most of the textures are made in Substance Painter/Designer and it's assembled in UE4. Looking for any and all critques, but I'm especially interested in comments on lighting since it's not something I have thought about before.

Based on concept art by Rowena Wang: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/68Bn

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    I like the mood you've made! I think you need to work on materials. Spend some more time in Substance Designer, and focusing on applying the materials/texturing.
  • artrynk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    artrynk polycounter lvl 18
    Without light ,materials and textures did not work )))
  • izaakb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    izaakb triangle
    I think the textures need a little more variety. There's basically one texture covering an entire piece without that variation. Variation will make it a lot more interesting. I think there needs to be more purposeful lighting. Lighting can take a long time to figure out how you want it to look, it takes exploration, keep at it! :smile: It seems like this is supposed to be a grungy building, I might suggest making the letters broken/faded/grunged way more. There's also combining a few too many eras in one scene in my opinion. I can't tell if it's old fashioned or new. I think this should be immediately clear on the first read. Unless you're going for futuristic old school, then I think there needs to be more assets to show that, like pipes on the side of the building, cool looking chimneys, and other tech.
  • shaya
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    shaya null
    Thanks for the comments.