Home Career & Education

Are character artists higher skilled than Environment artists?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
I'm studying games art at uni and have been tasked with studying the phrase 'Character artists are higher skilled than Environment artists'. The topic is based around modelling in 3ds Max and ZBrush. I am required to gather opinions from outside sources.

I myself think that character artists have more skills as they need to pay closer attention to details. They have an important job role as they are creating the main focal point of a game. Even in 1st person games there are cut scenes where the model is used.

Replies

• wirrexx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wirrexx ngon master
    Hmm, one can do both to be honest. Take Manuel Virks for an example, great at Environment, great at Characters. His work is great. And the reason for that is because he is passionated about what he does. 

But both need to pay attention to details. For ex. a Environment artist needs to pay attention to the overall lighting, it needs to go great along with textures and modell so the whole scene breaths life. I've seen many great modellers out there doing great 3D artwork but their overall presentation in game engine has been lacking. 

I've seen shiitty modellers, doing great texture work and great lighting and their piece looks magical! 

So many small details in both envo and Char needs to fit in together as whole to capture the eye. If you fail with one thing it will be noticable. 
    You need to be extremely good with characters to land a main Char job though. 

And i know a lot of Char artist that can't and wont do environment art because they feel it's to much and a lot of hassle. 
    And the other way around =)

• TheLittleJay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TheLittleJay polycounter lvl 5
    If this is a statement you're meant to research, take a step back and try asking yourself what does it mean by 'skilled'.