Home Career & Education

Should I stop working on my 3D skills?

derpkhan
vertex
Offline / Send Message
derpkhan vertex
So I've been messing around with learning 3D on Blender and Maya but whilst I'm progressing decently I've been reading around and seen that people recommend being a good 2D artist before you try 3d. I have a bit of 2d experience and understand the theory (like line of action and gesture drawing) but I'm far from even being a competent artist. Whilst I don't mind going back to 2D and trying to learn more I'm kinda at a loss about what to do with 3D? I'm guessing I should just drop it and not go back until I'm a good 2D artist which kinda sucks as I dislike doing 2D but love 3D. So Yeah, what are people's thoughts on this?

Replies

• CrackRockSteady
    Personally I don't see why you couldn't practice both simultaneously.  Learning good 2d foundation skills is definitely going to be helpful but not being an amazing 2d artist is not going to prevent you from learning how to model properly.
  • derpkhan
    Offline / Send Message
    derpkhan vertex
    Personally I don't see why you couldn't practice both simultaneously.  Learning good 2d foundation skills is definitely going to be helpful but not being an amazing 2d artist is not going to prevent you from learning how to model properly.
    It could be bad habit forming? At the least all the stuff I've read seems to imply you can't be a good 3d artist without being a good 2d artist
  • CrackRockSteady
    It really depends on what you're learning.  I wouldn't dive head first into learning to model characters if you don't first have some foundation knowledge of anatomy because, as you mention, you risk learning bad practices.

If you're just learning how your modeling package works and learning some basic modeling, not being a skilled 2d artist is not going to seriously hold you back.  There's no reason you can't get a start on learning 3d while also practicing 2d skills.