Home Technical Talk

Worlds worst normal map. What have I done wrong?

grand marshal polycounter
Online / Send Message
Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
Has anybody ever created an uglier normal map?

This is my first attempt at anything other than a very basic normal map, so don't laugh too hard. 

I did this in Maya 2018. As you will see, I exploded the mesh. I used the envelop method, with the option of only llooking inward. 

Is the issue that my low poly and hi poly models are not closely matched up enough? Or my envelope was too large? Is that even an issue if there is no overlap between the different meshes?

Any help is really appreciated here. My high poly sculpt looks pretty decent I think, and I spent a lot of time on the retopo making sure everythihng matched up just perfect. But look what I have created. It's a monster!

Additional note: I have xNormal, but got even weirder results with that.

The hi poly and lo poly together 

hi poly only

lo poly only

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    The best spots look really lo resolution. But these are 2k maps. 

The worst spots are black. Whats up with that?

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    I think even before you start baking normal maps, you need to practice more with modeling high poly characters.

I know it's not the exact answer you're looking for, but you need to improve every step of the way instead of taking shortcuts. 

As for the actual normal map errors, I believe there are a series of problem that would have lead to it.

*Your smoothing groups are not set up properly 
    *Low and hi-poly meshes not aligned properly. Rays that fire fail to hit surface.
    *You may have overlapping UV elements

This tutorial taught me all about baking normal maps. It's for 3DS Max but I'm sure the same concepts apply.
    https://cgi.tutsplus.com/tutorials/create-a-game-ready-fire-extinguisher-with-3d-studio-max-part-4--cms-20275