Home Career & Education

Is age important, if you want to work as a 3D Artist oder Concept Artist?

Farina
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Farina polycounter lvl 4
Hello,

i want to know, if the age is totally important, when you want to work as a 3d artist or concept artist? It is better to be younger or older than 30??? I am 28 years old and i learn now 3d for an half year. 

How important is age? Am i to old for that? Did a game company prefer a younger artist first?

Replies

• pior
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
  • AtticusMars
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    Can always freelance from home, on the internet no one knows you're in a retirement home.
  • Meloncov
    Offline / Send Message
    Meloncov greentooth
    As long as you're willing to accept the same wages as a 22 year old fresh out of school, you should be ok. 
  • Eric Chadwick
    Not true. I've been an artist in games for over 20 years, and I currently make a decent living doing it. 

It took me a few years to accumulate a decent wage, granted. But it's definitely achievable if you work hard.

And I absolutely love what I do for a living. How many people get to say that? 
  • Bletzkarn
    Offline / Send Message
    Bletzkarn polycounter lvl 6
    It's not important at all (unless you're maybe 70!) many people decide they get to the age of 30, or even 40, and decide they hate their career and completely switch to Concept Art or 3D.

I know a few people who are 1st year concept artists but they are 30, 32, 38 etc.

Because the industry is always changing even experienced artists still need to keep up and learn the things you are learning now.
  • Farina
    Offline / Send Message
    Farina polycounter lvl 4
    Well, im only thinking about that fact, because i have started new in 3d and when i see, there are 20 years old people, who are so good, because they started earlier then me, why a company should take me with 28 ?