Home Career & Education

Beginner Environment Artist Looking for Tips

KStew
null
Offline / Send Message
KStew null
Hello all!

I am a newcomer to... well, everything game art, really.  I am hoping to break into environmental art in the game industry.  I've only done a bit of 3D work with 3DS Max, and I've worked a decent amount in Unreal Engine, creating small and simple game levels using the assets available in the engine.  I'm actually a student right now for Game Programming and Development, but as I proceeded through all the programming classes I realized that it wasn't really for me.  The class that I took on 3D modeling, though, was the most fun I had while getting to the end of my degree, along with some other design-related courses.

Basically, I'm hoping for ideas on how to get started.  What programs do you all recommend?  I've noticed, as I look over job openings for Environment Art and other 3D art positions, Maya seems to be the program of choice.  Why is it more popular than 3DS Max?  Where do you recommend I start in creating game assets?  Should I jump right into creating an environment, or start with smaller asset models such as weapons or crates and so on?  I'm not particularly interested in character art, but I'm willing to work toward it if having an expanded repertoire will assist me in finding a job with any studio.  What kind of details do studios look for in an environment art portfolio?

Any tips and tools that you would recommend, I would really like to hear about!

Sorry for the wall of text.  I've included some photo's below of what little 3D work I have done (keep in mind, these were all created in a single week, to fulfill a course requirement), and an image of the scene that I hope to create as my first environment.

(All created in 3DS Max)

This is the first scene I hope to create, and is my current focus.  It seems like it could be simple enough for a beginner like myself to create.  Let me know what you think!

Replies