Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Zach Vance - Art Showcase (C&C Welcomed!)

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
zachvance polycounter lvl 2
Hey everyone! So welcome to my art thread! I've edited and pinned the original post so new comers have something a little prettier to look at instead of my old, washed out texture WIPs. Feel free to look around, and, if you have feedback, I'd love to hear it so I can continue to improve!

Anyway, just to give you a bit of background, I'm an art hobbyist who took around an 8 year hiatus and is now attempting to play catch up on all that lost time. Hopefully, with community critiques, a little luck, and a lot of practice, I can one day land a paying job in the creative field.

Until then, here's a list of goals I'm currently focused on (I guess not that focused, considering the variety):
  • Having something worthy to send to Wizards of the Coast by the end of 2018 (whether it's two pieces or ten).
  • Creating more illustrations that tell a story instead of just being a painting of a subject.
  • Better line work and cleaner sketches (I tend to skip a lot of lines and work in blocks of colour and value in the rough stages. Not so much a bad thing, but I would like to improve my line work so that I have the option, stylistically).
  • Improving my anatomy knowledge, both human and creature.
  • More environment art, with a flair for looking like animation background.
  • Achieving a more traditional look with digital.
  • Texture and material rendering, as always.
  • Pursue some kind of balance between realism and stylized aesthetics.
  • Brush stroke economy.
Styracosaurus says BWAAAARRR! (obvious Luke Mancini influence is obvious):

Replies

• zachvance
    Offline / Send Message