Home General Discussion

new to game development

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
I'm new to game development and want to make a small open world game.i have a great story and a awesome concept but i'm stuck on how to go about making my game. I have Ue4 and Unity but i cant seem to find any good tutorial on how to make a landscape with height maps.I'm making a desert game but getting start has become more of a chore then and enjoyment at this point. the videos i look at are great for people who already have knowledge in 3ds max, mud box, substance painter, substance designer,zbrush etc. I have money to pay people to just build and make what i want but i want to learn please help.
the game im making is low ploy or better yet will kinda look like this.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yON7zSsR3S0&list=FLAk_SfBFbPDOBi2bqaHMAFQ&index=22

Replies

• sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    Probably not what you'll likely want to read,  but creating the 'small' game without experience you've in mind from scratch solo will quite simply take years too develope. So I'd suggest utilising your second option by paying a gun gamesdev or team of three for the job to be completed in a practicable timeframe however be prepared to have very deep pockets, an exspensive activity for either solution I'm afraid.
  • danr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    danr interpolator
    In before you get replies linking to landscape/height map tutorials etc ...

You need to start at the right point. Landscapes like this are actually very simple and easy to do, and where you’re currently at will probably feel like a major victory