Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

B0lly's system shock 2 environment thread

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
b0lly polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys! 
I'm currently studying 3d art fulltime, and on the side I'm gonna build a system shock 2-environment in Unreal. I'm still kind of a beginner both with modular environments and also with working in Unreal so I'm hoping I'm gonna learn lots from this! I hope someone is gonna enjoy watching the progress :)

I've decided to make the room where you start off the game after you've done the training. What I've gotten so far is a blockout in Unreal and a couple of modular placeholder wallpieces. I'm still trying to figure out things like the hight of walls/roof and width of floor etc. Probably gonna have to tweak it a bit in my version for the sake of modularity.

my blockout:
https://i.imgur.com/D0AMiLu.gif

original game:
https://i.imgur.com/gJvR0qV.gif

Gonna keep posting in this thread as I progress. Feel free to give feedback and comments!

Replies

• b0lly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    b0lly polycounter lvl 5
    Oh and I forgot to add a pretty important detail - I am gonna try and make it as modular as possible and with a more contemporary style that fits todays standard better. Some juice PBR texturing coming up!
  • b0lly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    b0lly polycounter lvl 5

Been tweaking the scene a bit the past couple of days. I've made modular corner wall parts and generally just been moving around stuff to use as little modules as possible in the scene.
    Its hard to get a 1:1 scene, not only because the difference in display resolution but also FOV and stuff. Also the old game isn't modular and mine is so that obv poses some problems when it comes to mimicing the scene :D

Today I'm gonna start making floor modules placeholders!

• b0lly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    b0lly polycounter lvl 5
    A short vid of todays progress: