Home Technical Talk

Maya Newb Lag/Display Issue

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
ozaffer polycounter lvl 13
Hello I'm fairly new to maya so apologize if this is a dumb question but I couldn't find an answer through google.
I was retypologizing a character with poly draw but my symmetry was off in some area's so I deleted one half mirrored/wielded the other half. This worked but my pivotpoint was off so I went to center it only to have the crazy issue displayed below. Fearing the wield didn't work I went to check to find the points were connected,  but there seems to be a modification hierarchy or something?

Also getting lag because my older PC but whats not helping is while looking for a solution to the previous problem I somehow displayed all of my modifications as I have highlighted in the img below. 

If anyone has suggestions on how to fix these issues or cutting down on lag I could use the help.

Replies

• ozaffer
    Offline / Send Message
    I would still like to know more about these issues if anyone has answers but I exported the mesh as an obj and imported it back into a new scene effectively centering the pivot point and combining the hierarchy as a quick fix.
  • alkiloyd
    Offline / Send Message
    alkiloyd polycounter lvl 9
    Mmm... Maybe delete history, freeze transforms, then weld the two meshes together, then center pivot? And just for good measure, delete history again. I found out recently my meshes would do some crazy things when my history was full and also would big my computer down.
  • ozaffer
    Offline / Send Message
    alkiloyd said:
    Mmm... Maybe delete history, freeze transforms, then weld the two meshes together, then center pivot? And just for good measure, delete history again. I found out recently my meshes would do some crazy things when my history was full and also would big my computer down.
    Thank you for the reply, I didn't know about deleting history I'll have to look into that more.