Home Career & Education

What's more important: Working on portfolio or getting hired at any cost?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
wonkza polycounter lvl 4
I've graduated a while ago but I've never found a job yet, so I'm trying to improve my portfolio now since I was a bit behind I guess, I took some time off for personal reasons and now I feel really behind the industry standards and trying to catch up, (when I graduated PBR workflow and substance painter didn't exist really).  

But some of my family members  like my brother are desperate to see me unemployed now and say that nobody actually works on their first job, you first serve coffee and make copies and are not paid and then the company will teach you everything and that portfolio doesn't matter, but he works in finance and I keep telling him that it's probably more important to have a good portfolio in this industry than to bullshit the interviewer on how good you are (that's what you do in finance) In my opinion if you bullshit and then can't do anything you will have a bad reputation and get fired straight away...  I mean sure you will learn a lot but you can't come and know almost nothing and have nothing in the portfolio it's kinda shooting yourself in the foot, and I don't feel comfortable selling myself on something I can't do... 

I've never heard of someone getting in the game industry by making coffees at first..  he says I'm so irrealistic and live in my own world that's not how the world works blablabla that working on my portfolio is a waste of time, I should be applying and calling every studio and harass them.  The last part might be true, but without good art is there really a point? 

Edit: I also get stressed out on that it's more important to get any job in any studio even unpaid (including serving coffee or doing nothing and watching others work) than not having a job no matter what you're doing (including working on portfolio).

Replies

• Ashervisalis