Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Thesis Project: 3D Environment Art

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Blackstone69 polycounter lvl 13
My name is Gabriel Guerrero, I am a graduate from the Academy of Art University in SF.  

My thesis is focused mainly on environment art, but my focus is more on how creative an artist can get with procedural systems. I am still very new to coding and programming theory but I can dabble just enough to be able to make my way through the technical aspects of Programs like Designer and Unreal's Blueprints.

This log is to help me keep a timeline of the progress I've had, but also to share it with anyone else curious about anything I am working on. So feel free to ask questions, leave a comment or just say Hi! Welcome to the last few steps of my graduate journey and thank you for taking your time to have a look.

The Idea behind the Thesis Project is simple... match the concept and do it in an art style similar to Overwatch. 

For more on the project keep scrolling down!

Progress Update:

-Finished fixing all the models that got moved of grid and everything is in proportion now.
-Dabbled a bit with some texture stuff and set up my trimsheet template

Current update: 

Were in UE4 finally! Things got hectic, couldn't update because everything broke... but were golden now and on fire!

A little black magic!

Replies

• Blackstone69
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thesis Project "Mercenary Fort"

Thesis Goals:
    - Maintain a cohesive style and match the concept reference
    - Establish a clear narrative that is easy to read  
    - Highlight the use of PBR materials throughout the process

Thesis Breakdown:
    1. Pre-production:
    - Environment concept 
    - Reference gathering

2. Textures and Trim Texture Layout:
       - Sculpt necessary assets for texture creation
       - Create Trim Texture Layout

3. Scene Block-out

4. Content Creation
       - reference gather
      - Textures

- 3d meshes