Home Technical Talk

What is "baking"? - Beginner questions + sculpt photo

sophiam
vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
sophiam vertex
Hello, I'm a newbie at zbrush and I would like to ask some questions. 

1. After finishing sculpting, do I need to do retopology in order to polypaint and apply texture?
2. What is "baking" and how does it work?
3. What should be my next step after i finish this sculpt?

I'm sorry for the newb questions! It would be really helpful if anyone answers one of them.
Also, this is my first sculpt in zbrush i am working on. 

Replies

• Chidambhar_Swaroop
    Offline / Send Message
    Chidambhar_Swaroop polycounter lvl 2
    I am not a pro but I think I could give u some answers ...

1.If u r modelling this character for game use. U should definitely create a low poly. Why is it? Bcas in a game u can't have so many polys's as an animated movie will have. So u should definitely create low poly to texture it..
    2.Baking is very simple. U take both the High Poly and the Low Poly Mesh and bake the information like details and stuff to the low poly... Eg. Normal Map - Details, Ambient Occlusion  etc
    3.Basically next is to create the low poly, then unwrap it, bake normals and AO (Ambient Occlusion) and also if u want different materials for each mesh, u should bake something called Material id. So you can assign material based on the color id...
  • Ged
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    most people bake thier models in a painting tool these days like substance painter or substance designer. Simply put its taking the details of the high poly model and projecting them on to a clever set of textures that can be used to make a lowpoly model look like a high poly model.

read the wiki for more info:
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Texture_Baking
  • Zalek4
    Offline / Send Message
    Zalek4 polycounter lvl 5