Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

I'm a New Grad looking for critiques on my portfolio

Karthik Jayan
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Karthik Jayan polycounter lvl 2
Hello,

I'm a new grad just finished college. My degree was BA in Game Art & Design. My college is kinda iffy and I never really got any useful critiques on my portfolio. Since, now I'm finished with college and want to start looking for job, I thought this might be the best time to get dome feedback on my portfolio before I start sending out my resume.

Everything you see in my portfolio I have learned for the Internet and practiced own my own.

Be brutally honest with me.

https://www.artstation.com/karthikjayan

Replies

• mickeyvpn
    Offline / Send Message
    mickeyvpn polycounter lvl 8
    Hey @Karthik Jayan

I'll speak for the assets that you showed in your Artstation page. Texture resolution for most of the assets are huge, for example that knife with 8k by 4k. Compare to this knife model by Francois Hurtubise that have 4k textures, we can see that this resolution is more than enough for detailed, sharp textures. Same for the guns.

For presenting your work I'd recommend to attach wireframe shots, texture samples and UV's layout. Or include Marmoset Viewer or Sketchfab link.

• Karthik Jayan
    Offline / Send Message
    mickeyvpn said:
    "Texture resolution for most of the assets are huge, for example that knife with 8k by 4k. Compare to this knife model by Francois Hurtubise that have 4k textures, we can see that this resolution is more than enough for detailed, sharp textures. Same for the guns."

"For presenting your work I'd recommend to attach wireframe shots, texture samples and UV's layout. Or include Marmoset Viewer or Sketchfab link."

Thank you for your tips. These were exactly the type of suggestions I was looking for. Looking at my 3 years at college noe seems like waste

• RustySpannerz
    Offline / Send Message
    RustySpannerz polycounter lvl 13