Home Technical Talk

Low Poly to High Poly (or not??) / Workflow Question

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
YF_Sticks polycounter lvl 5
Hey Polycount!

I am studying modeling and I get a bit confused about the workflow or process of Low Poly to High Poly (or baking).
My goal is to be an environment artist. So let's say I want to create an environment that features a military vehicle and then building the environment around that. 
Would you first do every part of the vehicle in low-poly, then do a high poly version of it and bake it after? Or would you directly do the high poly and do UV's?
Let me know what you think. For me it's a really confusing topic and I'm trying to bring it all together. 

Replies

• Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    I think you've misread something or are confused.

Make your high poly first, if you even need one, maybe try focusing on getting a decent model first.
    Then if your model is too high density for realtime, create a lower-poly version of it, while still closely matching the shape of the high.

Bake the high poly normals and ambient occlusion onto the low poly.

I always recommend that beginners try their hand at very simple geometry before they give themselves headaches with large models. It'll give you the practise you need.
  • YF_Sticks
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 said:
    I think you've misread something or are confused.

Make your high poly first, if you even need one, maybe try focusing on getting a decent model first.
    Then if your model is too high density for realtime, create a lower-poly version of it, while still closely matching the shape of the high.

Bake the high poly normals and ambient occlusion onto the low poly.

I always recommend that beginners try their hand at very simple geometry before they give themselves headaches with large models. It'll give you the practise you need.
    Thank you! Yes, I am confused :smile: .