Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critque - 3D Environment Art

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
eleventh polycounter lvl 3
So many portfolios out there! This one is mine  :) 

I'm looking for feedback, advice, and critique. One concern I personally have is that the selection of work that I've done are pretty "boring". The scenes are more architectural than environments with a fantasy vibe. I wonder if that's an issue.

Like many people I'm all self-taught so right now I'm having a few issues getting hired in the field. In the meantime, I'm sure if I keep improving my portfolio and web presence something is sure to turn up. So I sincerely appreciate any feedback for improving my digital creations ... !

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Hot dang, I got hot and bothered by this.

I really appreciate at an overall read, you do speak loudly with work you have.  I get a strong sense of composition and minimalism.  Red Canyon is a good example of this to me.

You can also paint, and it is good.  Noice.

No home page.  Just go straight to the art.  You're adding one more click to this all that you don't need to.  Minimize annoyances.
  • Joopson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joopson quad damage
    Your work looks great, and has great composition. I can tell you're a fantastic artist.

But from the works presented, I get the feeling you have an eye for big picture, more than for detail. I feel like I'd trust you more as a level artist than an environment artist. The individual objects in the scene are not particularly impressive on their own, but in the scene they work very well.

I wouldn't feel confident handing you a complex prop to make to modern PBR spec, based on the work in your portfolio alone.