Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] maple forest (looking for feedback)

Sherif3142
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Sherif3142 polycounter lvl 5
hello everybody,

here is an environment i've been working on for the past few weeks, i'd like to know what you guys think of it .
  i'm still not sure about the lighting so any critiques would be much appreciated.

unlit :

mud texture made in substance designer :

tree bark base texture made in SD :

Replies

• Chidambhar_Swaroop
    Offline / Send Message
    Chidambhar_Swaroop polycounter lvl 2
    Well I am a newbie so I can't answer much but it looks very nice... btw how long did it take ??

On the 3rd image. Is it water ?? If yes, I think u should decrease the roughness... Something like this...

• FreneticPonies
    Offline / Send Message
    FreneticPonies polycounter lvl 3
    Feels very, muddy. None of the materials feel distinct enough, the mud and water could be smoother and shinier, making them look wetter and more distinct than the wood bark and etc. All the colors need to be more distinct too. There's a lot of very similar greenish brown all around, some areas of more distinct color would be really nice. Eg the trail here (maple trees around this forest actually, though only a few) has a really distinctive color from the rest of the scene

• Jarran
    Offline / Send Message
    Jarran polycounter lvl 11
    this is nice but I'm just gonna echo what @FreneticPonies said. I would also suggest that you're missing a lot of shadows within/around the foliage which is losing a lot of separation between elements.
  • Maximum-Dev
    1. Colors are somehow bland, there's not enough contrast from one surface to another.
    2. There's a distinct lack of color variation, this is especially showing in your Unlit mode.
    3. Tree leaves, ferns, clovers, etc. each should have their own unique hue and saturation.