Home Technical Talk

Noob question: what is your opinion about start working in sculpting programs?

kaitoren
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
kaitoren polycounter lvl 3
Hi everyone. I was recently listening a 3d artist about the differents workflows in art gaming and he told me he has a negative opinion about people who start working in Zbrush or Mudbox and then retopologizing the mesh of an object. He considers it a very dirty workflow. Like put the cart before the horse. 

As a newbie I would like to know the opinions of people in Polycount. If you agree and it is better start to work from 3ds Max, Maya or Modo, or on the contrary you don't agree. 

Thanks for your patience.

Replies

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    I started out box modelling characters (and everything else) and first used ZBrush for details. The software has developed alot since that time and I have also done some tests in hard surface modelling in ZBrush that surprised me.

The freedom the application affords an artist/designer is the luxury of  creating forms or designs that are surprising. For visualizing existing concepts ZBrush affords a flexible production workflow with very unique tools. The general idea is that beginners that miss the : box step miss an appreciation of topology. I think that is true at the very start, but soon remedied. I am fairly sure there are engineers that find poly modelling a very dirty workflow, because polys are an approximation of a surface, and only CAD/spline modelling can reproduce a formed line to an accuracy of 0.000001 mm, or something like that.
  • Larry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Larry interpolator