Home Career & Education

"OP is good but not "good" good." When do you think you became "good" good?

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
MBauer17 greentooth
I had made a post of a sketch I made on reddit not too far back that got some traction and made it to the front page for a day. As expected there were many positive and a few negative comments. I am pretty thick skinned because that's what the internet has forced me to become but one comment that has been pushing me to become better was what the title says. "Op is good but not 'good' good. Don't expect to get a job doing that." (I've been doing private commission work for the last six months)

When would you say you reached the level of "good" good if ever? How do you feel with that feeling of inadequacy?

Replies

• [Deleted User]
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • MBauer17
    Offline / Send Message
    MBauer17 greentooth

I'd like to see this sketch you're talking about.
    https://www.reddit.com/comments/6mzzov

It was an improvement post. The one I did back in 2010 vs a redo in 2017. I'm not a professional by any stretch of the word but heckin  heck am I proud of it either way you look at It! I had come back from quitting art all together to now making a little side cash developing personal art for others. 

Honestly if I didn't want criticism I wouldn't have posted It. But places like here have really helped me develop and culture my skills. I understand it's not perfect but is there ever a point where I can sit back and think, "yes, this is 'good good?" 
  • MBauer17
    Offline / Send Message
    MBauer17 greentooth
    Also @TeriyakiStyle you helped me so much on my little knight and frog piece. I can't thank you enough for what you've done to help me learn!
  • [Deleted User]
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • slosh