Home Technical Talk

Multiple detail maps in one material. Possible?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
gem2492 polycounter lvl 5
The idea is to have at most 4 detail maps and one detail weight map that has 4 channels: R, G, B, and Alpha. Each channel will be controlling the weight of one detail map. For detail maps, that are directional, we can also have a detail direction map (similar to that of anisotropic shaders).

For example, a head has different types of pores. Instead of sculpting them, we can just apply them as detail maps, which means that it won't get blurry or pixelated, even in super close-up shots. Since the details are on the detail maps, the textures for the head itself don't need to be high-resolution anymore, and the detail maps can just be 128x128 pixels each. 

I'm not a programmer or a material author, but it seems simple enough. Is there a way to implement it on Marmoset Toolbag or Unreal?

Replies

• Butthair
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Butthair polycounter lvl 11
    You can do this in any game engine, just so long as you can write a shader to blend channels per channel. Unreal's material editor exposes these channels - RGBA - so they can be manipulated. Further on, you can control tiling scale for each detail map.

However, for the purposes of rendering, it might be better to check Marmoset's website and see if it allows or if people have managed something similar.
  • gem2492
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi @Butthair ! Thanks for your response. After posting the question, I realized that Marmoset Toolbag only has Detail Normal Map. However, it would be nice if we could have Detail AO and Cavity as well, so I don't think I'll be using Toolbag for what I have in mind. Good to know we can do it in Unreal though. Hmm.. I'll have to do a research on what you just said.
  • Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    @Butthair