Home Technical Talk

3dsmax plane problem

Hi guys,

I'm new to 3ds max. I hope that someone can help me. I'm wondering why in Max when i move a vertex in a plane (and sometimes not) the plane wil bend with a middle line. 

As you can see in the image below. The left side have a middle line. In the right side you can see no line. I just dont understand why this is and can't find it anywhere. 

I really hope somebody can explain it to me.  Many thanks. 

Replies

• ActionDawg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ActionDawg greentooth
    Each polygon is made of triangles. Significantly bending them exposes that fact, especially because that polygon itself has no smoothing groups.
  • DannySliepen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for you answer.

I understand that each polygon is made of triangles. When I was finished with my modeling i noticed on my model that it have a lot of triangels in my planes.  When i look at my reference model.. I didn't had one. And when i moved the vertex of my reference model it will not show the triangels. I just wonder what is the cause of this.  
    In the center is where i move up the vertex without bending.  In the bottom i moved the vertex with bending of the plane. You would say that in this case both situation would be triangles visible. As you can see its not. is this really normal???

• Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    In max's Edit Poly tools, use the "turn" tool, you'll see dashed lines where the triangles exist. If the quad is non planar, then the triangle nature will appear, but the vertex normals of the object will keep the shading consistent, so it can be harder to spot.
  • Amsterdam Hilton Hotel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Amsterdam Hilton Hotel insane polycounter