Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP / Feedback] Human Skull Study

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
GustavBP polycounter lvl 2
Hi Polycount!

This is my first time posting here. I'm fairly new to 3D and wanted to try and share some of my work for some C&C.
As any total ZBrush noob, I decided my first real project should be a skull. This is where I'm at currently:

I'm using DynaMesh at this stage and wanted to get some feedback, specifically on proportions, before moving on to detailing.

I want to end up with a high-quality mesh that I can import into 3ds Max and render in a big still-life scene in V-ray.
I'm thinking about trying out Mari Non-commercial for textures, which I have never used before so this will all be very new to me. Therefore I want to make sure I'm following a somewhat sensible workflow before moving too far.

Heres what I'm thinking on the workflow so far:
Finishing touches on DynaMesh > ZRemesher > Breaking up Symmetry and further detailing > UV mapping > Baking maps > Move to Mari > building final shader in V-ray.

I'll try and keep this thread updated as I progress. Any feedback is very much appreciated!

Replies

• Stellary
    Offline / Send Message
    Stellary vertex
    Hi! I'm new to zbrush too, so I can't help with your workflow. But I notice that the skull from front seems to be too narrow. Otherwise I really like it, good luck with your work!
  • GustavBP
    Offline / Send Message
    @Stellary You were definitely right about the narrowness. Thank you for pointing that out :)

I spent the entire night (probably waaay too long, but I get carried away with this sort of stuff) on reworking all of the proportions. I think it looks A LOT more accurate now. So here's an update:

And here's a quick comparison:

All of the pushing and pulling I did on the mesh left the teeth a bit messed up, so I probably have to clean it up a bit before I mess them up on purpose ;)

• GustavBP
    Offline / Send Message