Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need Portfolio Critiqued

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
kwagner polycounter lvl 5
I am in desperate need of some harsh critique. I'm aware that, while my work has come leaps and bounds over the last year since I graduated, I'm still not at AAA level yet. I've done 4 art tests in the last 4 months and all have been rejected, but none could/would provide feedback (which I completely understand, it just sucks). So I would really appreciate if someone could point me in the direction of taking steps to better fix my work. I've been staring at amazing work all week and I just don't know how to push my work to that point. Anything at all is appreciated greatly!

https://www.artstation.com/artist/kwagner

Replies

• BeardedMike
    Offline / Send Message
    BeardedMike polycounter lvl 7
    Taking a quick look, Your environments as a whole I really like.  Your mansion and abandoned pieces really caught my eye immediately, I would move them to the front side by side.  Your stand alone props and substance designer piece I would work on improving.   Your cauldron I would honestly consider removing and reworking, not that its bad it just needs a bit more polish.  For your props, I would focus on the textures, you can bump the texel density up a bit and go in to more detail, add some dirt wear and tear really make them stand out.  For your environments I would make some sort of exterior environment, pick something small you can get a few good shots of and make sure that small area is as polished as you can make it.  Your work isn't bad at all!  Self critique is rough because you see the work you put in to it, but you really have to ask yourself "is this worth showing to an employer."  I've been facing the same dilemma of updating my portfolio from a "university" portfolio to a real world portfolio for the last few years, hang in there you can do it!
  • kwagner
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you so much for your feedback!