Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

D.Va Highlight Intro Master Copy

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Dezmond polycounter lvl 3
Here I copied one of D.Va's highlight Intros. My goal is for this to be the intro to my next demoreel. Most of my animation experience is in 2D. I am not new to 3D, but I am new to animating characters in 3D. Overwatch is an inspiration. This project was not too ambitious, but the polycount community is professional and I would love to know how you all would have taken this to the next level.

Source:

This is me. Instead of having a dope mech, I jump into a desk, with my weapons of choice.

Untextured model:

(I originally rendered this aesthetically, for instagram.)

I would love critique on the animation and model.

Replies

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    My suggestions.

1.  Have the character's eyes blink. Either when running or at the very end when looking into the camera. 
    2. It could be an aesthetic choice, but have you looked into motion blur? Doesn't have to be anything too crazy, but for a high speed scene like that, it could add more visual impact. 
    3. This may be just a nitpick, but when the camera pulls back, is it clipping through the monitor/desk? I know it's meant to be inspired by the same D.Va animation, but for practical purposes, I would think of the camera like a live action one. How would a cameraman get his camera through the table? 
  • Dezmond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dezmond polycounter lvl 3
    @JordanN Appreciated! I welcome nitpicks. I knew there was something about my camera I didn't like, but I knew I liked Overwatch's.
    I'm seeing what your saying though.

@TeriyakiStyle Most Appreciated, man.

• AnthonyAnimation
    Options
    Offline / Send Message